We have enough problems with amateur hockey in this country without this.
Canadian parents of players have been charged, fined, kicked out because they act worse than children, and there is a long, long way to go.
This is sad and outrageous. A group of pee-wee players from Massachusetts got caught in an ‘anti-war’ protest in the streets of Montreal on their way to their games on March 20.
Wrong place at the wrong time, unnerving and potentially dangerous for adults, let alone children. There is no mention in this report what the Montreal police have done about this.
I hope the US parents and children saw that fans would not permit the booing in the next game of that series. It’s happening too often on both sides of the border.
What angers me most is the treatment these kids were subjected to in their tournament.
Every hockey coach in Canada should register a strong protest with the Montreal amatuer hockey officals, and make it clear this asinine behaviour won’t be condoned again.
We Canadians haven’t gotten a handle on our own conduct at kids games, and this is a mere part of the fallout.
Every parent of a young player in Canada can let these Brockton players know this is not going to be tolerated as part of the game.
Update: The other team was in Montreal from Ontario. Daimnation had this story before I did and did a better job in covering it. (blogger bug - April 2nd)
God-blogs mirrored
There have been some strange and not so strange going ons for some god-bloggers lately. LivingRoom did his homework, so I’ll quote his post.
Has anyone else noticed that there are some strange goings on in the blogisphere of late? Maxspeak has had his site mirrored in a few remote locations. Signposts seemed to get hacked yesterday and Boynton has also had her template, blogroll…everything stolen.
Smells fishy….is it a conspiracy???
If I understand correctly, there was some template switching going on April 1st, and blogger.com is assisting anyone caught in that switch.
However, there is a so called ‘christian’ site out there that hasn’t crossed a legal line….but…. this site has crossed over what many of us would consider moral and/or ethical lines.
This site has tagged bloggers, mostly by taking the ’s’ out of blogspot. elianandricci, tall skinny kiwi, LivingRoom, bloggedy blog, Jordon Cooper and possibly others have been affected.
And, this site appears to change a letter or two in someone’s URL, and mirrors, so searches for their blogs to direct people to that site.
Kudos to Urban Onramps for helping other bloggers become aware.
This blog could be affected to.
If I didn’t quite explain that properly, tech bloggers jump in and put it in english for us non-geeks. I did read everyones blogs and comments on this and about all I got was an ice-cream headache!
Update:
Aha. Dispatches from Outland posted after doing a bit of digging about this.
….it also appears that someone has appropriated the domain blogpot.com (note the missing “s”), and is redirecting anybody who mistypes a Blogspot url to their site. It looks like you can type virtually any string in front of ” .blogpot.com” and you’ll get redirected there. It worked for foo.blogpot.com, boogabooga.blogpot.com, and [a bunch of random keystrokes].blogpot.com. This is, in my opinion, extremely lame.
A whois query for blogpot.com and this other site shows they’re both registered to the same individual. I’ll leave finding that site and the domain owner as an exercise for the class.
Update: A google search for “blogpot” shows that this stunt has been noticed, and not appreciated, by several other bloggers.
Yep. It has. It’s legally owned, so the best thing to do is make sure you have your favorite blogs bookmarked so you don’t give this site any traffic with a typo in a search engine.
I’m having connection problems today, glad that tech mystery is solved, thank you ladies and gentlemen. Alert the bloggers!
Published 5 years, 7 months ago
You are currently browsing the Bene Diction Blogs On weblog archives.
For blog design, Wordpress or MovableType coding or blog consulting, see cre8d design.
Bene,
Regarding that mirroring, I did a bit of poking around and found something odd. You can type any random string in front of “.blogpot.com” and it’ll take you to the same site. I have a post with more details on my blog.
Can you say “lame”?
I had someone swipe my sidebar of my blog, but just the side bar and it is on a blog about tummy issues (http://tummyissues.blogspot.com/). Odd.
The same people who got the domain blogpot.com also bought blogpsot.com… basically hoping to capitalise on any sort of typo in a URL name. Desperate, desperate people…