Head over to this site and put your cursor over the eye or face.

Since when do people in the Christian faith accept just ‘baby’ Jesus?

Lest your trip be in vain, there are lots of T-shirts, thongs and baseball caps you can purchase…
I followed the ‘accept Jesus’ link to a non-descript site out of Colorado Springs.
The second link goes to a site called Objective.
The primary goal appears to be to have the fake Landover Baptist Church site shut down, they consider it a hate site.
Wierd. It’s so kitchy it looks like a Landover parody of itself.
Maybe one of my US friends can enlighten me. Could be a white supremist group, an independent fundamentalist group, a patriotism group. It hasn’t been updated in awhile. I can’t find the church or the university in a search.
If you don’t like baby Jesus merchandise, there’s more.
If merchandise isn’t your thing, you can head over to Zounds - Rocking the World with the Word music site. That looks like a parody of ‘religious’ rock music.

Some one is looking to make a buck.

Update: Maybe intuition counts for something. People were creeped out by this.
What is odd is who/what is potentially behind this. Boing Boing readers are doing some tracking.
If this is a comic drawing, patent owning, pr0n guy who tried to charge businesses for sub-domains - what is the point of this site?
Comic wierdness?
Merchandise profit?
Some way to con people?

I’m not convinced yet that some (most?) of this is a parody. Links go to links to lnks
It’s like someone (IdeaFlood?)(Brian Shuster - Chaos?) collected (collects) fundamentalist sites and put them back online in a collection after they’d been abandoned or rarely accessed.
I don’t have the tech skills, the only word I can come up with is loopy.
About.com and Whistle Stopper and Lion of Judah have addressed this er, parody.


19 Responses to “Jesus Junk”

  1. 1 Richard Hall 

    Sadly, those links seem to be forwarding to the webhosts site BD. Hope it’s just a temporary problem - I was looking forward to reading them!

  2. 2 Bene Diction 

    Shoot. Just checked the links.
    They are okay at this end.
    Landover is obvious in what it is.
    These guys border on creepy.
    I’m not the only one that wondered if it a Landover offshoot.
    Too bad you can’t access it Richard.
    Jesus has very blue eyes.:^)

  3. 3 Feithy 

    ::sighs::

    People will do *anything*.

    F

  4. 4 Bene Diction 

    Do you think this is a parody Feithy?
    I found it at blogdex, looks like someone resurrected the link for the Christmas season.

  5. 5 Richard Hall 

    I tried again to get through to jesussave.us, and was redirected to a free webhost again. Google to the rescue! I was able to read a cached page there. Very entertaining! This is what I read: “We are hearing reports that foreign visitors to our site are being redirected to electronic bookstores and people offering to pay to take surveys. We are not affiliated with these sites and advise you not to deal with them; they may be front organizations for cults. Although our technical staff is still looking into this issue, we strongly suspect that anti-Christian and anti-American governmental agents outside the U.S. are trying to keep our message from being heard in their lands. If you have suggested our site to a foreigner and he says he can’t get through to it, warn him that he and his family are living under the scrutiny of an authoritarian regime and are in immediate spiritual — and possibly physical — danger!”

    So it’s the British government redirecting the links. Shock! Horror! I had no idea I was living in such peril.

    Gulp.

  6. 6 Bene Diction 

    I guess Boing Boing linked them, so they are getting some undeserved attention.

    Gulp.
    Been good knowing you.;^)
    Here is a mere taste of what you are missing - you misplaced heathen you…

    **The Internet was created by the United States of America - a Christian nation [ref. 1, 2, 3] - and should not be used to spread anti-Christian, secular, or non-Christian propaganda and hatespeech. This is our Internet, and we should exercise our position as its owners and as the guardians of civilization to stop its misuse.
    For this reason, this website was created to try and stop one of the more vile and dangerous misuses of the Internet: using it to mock Our Lord Jesus Christ, His teachings, and His followers. And one site in particular stands out in need of stoppage: Landover Baptist.**

    Were you able to get the baby Jesus to speak to you? Or does the British government block the voice of God?:^)

    You are missing some enlightening music at Zounds…

    **Wacky, wacky Wicca chick.
    Wacky! Wacky!
    Weirder than a Catholic.
    Wacky, Wacky, Wacky!
    Her “Blessed Be”’s just a shtick.
    Her other car’s a broomstick.
    Wacky! Wacky! Wicca!

    (Bass solo)

    Her religion is a mess. She worships some strange Goddess.
    But the Lord don’t wear a dress. Now her soul is in distress.**

  7. 7 Mark Byron 

    The “Objectives” ministries is a parody site, as far as I can tell. About a year ago, I did a piece on the when they changed servers over the alledged issue of Triclavianism-”The Objective Ministries site lays the parody on two notches lighter than Landover, who has support groups for ex-Negros or the woman’s group Bringing Integrity To Christian Homemakers with its catchy acronym.”

  8. 8 Richard Hall 

    Sadly, Mr Blair’s evil minions evidently don’t want the baby Jesus to speak to me. I’m deprived of that pleasure.

    A small point: I thought that Tim Berners-Lee (who invented the www) was British. He is, isn’t he?

    Our internet indeed!

  9. 9 Bene D 

    I did a search at Snopes, couldn’t find them so I emailed it to them.

    Pretty clever doing a clueless-about-the-web re-direct.

    I want some of what these guys are smoking.:^0
    Thanks Mark, now what do we do about Richard’s imminent peril?

  10. 10 susan b. 

    Yeah, it’s definitely a parody site. Pretty over the top, plus the “Baby Jesus Anti-Fornication Thong” makes it pretty clear the whole thing is an intentional joke. (As opposed to an unintentional one.)

  11. 11 Mark Byron 

    I think that Richard’s safe in Tony Blair’s UK, as long as Richard goes easy on the anti-Iraq rhetoric :-)

  12. 12 Bene Diction 

    Thanks Susan…
    hard to tell these days.:^)

  13. 13 Richard Hall 

    Too right. For ages I was convinced that Jack Chick was a parody…

  14. 14 Darryl 

    http://www.boingboing.net/2004/12/07/the_bibleman_cometh.html

    The “official” word is that it is a parody. They had me going!

  15. 15 Bene Diction 

    Did you see the emails?
    Some people are royally steamed - the emails date the last two days.
    http://www.htmlgear.tripod.com/guest/control.guest?u=objectiveministries&i=2&a=view

    Had me going too.
    I wonder if some of the things this Ojective page links to are (were) real - like the earlier internet sites ie: Santamas. Hopefully tech bloggers can do some digging.

    The patent and the pr0n look real too, if he was sending out pay me letters for sub-domains there wasn’t much fuss.

    **BoingBoing reader Bryan says, “I was intrigued (and disturbed) by the Baby Jesus. Wondering what type of strange religious group created this, I WHOISed the site. Interestingly, it is registered to a company called “IdeaFlood, Inc.,” which is based, apparently, in Nevada. So, I went to the Nevada Department of State website, and found out that one “Brian Shuster” is the registered agent for the corporation. A quick google search of his name, and voila!, pr0n and the Creepy Baby Jesus have quite a bit in common. Worse, the guy has a patent on pop-up ads!”**

  16. 16 Jeri Massi 

    Looks like Baby Jesus, Objective, and Landover Baptist are all run by the same minds. Clever parody that runs from almost neutral to sheer farce. Mockery of Christendom is nothing new. GLIMPSES had an article one week that showed facsimile of graffiti from Rome depicting a crucified jackass and a figure of a praying man, with the comment scrawled underneath that this was a Christian praying to his God.

    I wish we were mocked for prayer and faith instead of some of the genuine silliness and departure from a sober and comprehenive knowledge of Scripture that we Evangelicals have been guilty of.

    Jeri

  17. 17 Bene Diction 

    I was hoping you’d pop by Jerri, if anyone knows the fundamentalist movement it’s you.:^)

    This isn’t just parody.

    Definition: [n] humorous or satirical mimicry
    [n] a composition that imitates somebody’s style in a humorous way
    [v] make a parody of; “The students spoofed the teachers”
    [v] make a spoof of; make fun of

    Some of the links are real, as in people that believe what they are saying. ie: KJVOnly

    Like I said, it’s like someone has ‘collected’ them.
    What’s pathetic is this site has been around for quite awhile and keeps resurfacing and getting people all worked up. We are gullible.
    I not prepared to call it a parody, but I’m not sure what to call it.

  18. 18 Scott McClare 

    Parody or not, that computer-generated, eyes-rolling, ugly Baby Jesus Flash animation whispering “Why?” in a robotic voice is seriously freakin’ disturbing.

  19. 19 Warren 

    The Objectice site is parody, but some of the others are unfortunately not — especially the av1611.org site and it’s associated foolishness. The sad thing is, parodists can link to actual “Christian” sites to make people think they are legitimate, and it’s hard to tell a parody from a real site — read anything by Peter Ruckman, for example.

Benediction Prayer

Subscribe

You are currently browsing the Bene Diction Blogs On weblog archives.

For blog design, Wordpress or MovableType coding or blog consulting, see cre8d design.